Cybertron.CA - Canadian Transformers News and Discussion
Go Back   Cybertron.CA - Canadian Transformers News and Discussion > Transformers Discussion > Transformers General Discussion

Old 03-09-2013, 01:33 AM   #1
Hhai
Beasty
Collecting Transformers Appreciation Thread

I've spent some time today printing various Transformers TV series logos, and then placing them on my shelves to identify what line each shelf represents. I'm looking at the results and all I'm thinking is “criss que j'ai du fun!” (translation: damn I'm having so much fun!). And so the idea came to me to start a topic where I. and other people I hope, could just say how much we appreciate this hobby.

I've been collecting for two years now. It began in march 2011 when I saw a Generations Thrust on clearance at Zellers. I bought it for old times' sake (Tfs were my favorite toy when I was young but I got rid of them at some point). And then I bought Generations Drift (“hey, there can't be a decepticon without am Autobot opposite”), and then another an another....

Oh god I didn't know then...

Didn't know then that I would have 150+ figures, filling two billy bookshelves.

Didn't know then this hobby would make me spend 3 days in a remote hotel in Mississauga just buying toys and listening to people who design, animate, write and care a lot about those toys.

Didn't know then I would spend hours watching countless TV episodes and reading comics, and finding out I still enjoy those characters and stories even if I'm 30 years old.

Didn't know then it would reconnect me with the little girl inside me and that it would bring back so many forgotten memories.

Didn't know then how many people around me would tell me how cool this is and how they wish they had the courage to do kid stuff like that.

Didn't know then how many women around me would tell me how cool it is for a girl to collect transformers and how they wish they had the courage to do non-stereotypical stuff like that.